Narcissus "Passionale"


0,5 m. 1,64 f.
Family: Liliaceae

Genus: Narcissus

The name of the genus is derived from Narcissus, son of the Boeotian river god Cephisus and the nymph Liriope.
It contains more than 50 species of bulbous plants with green, very narrow leaves like those of the onions. Native to Europe and North Africa. They bear large, mostly yellow, funnel-shaped flowers in early spring. According to their bloom form and for practical reasons, they are classified into 12 divisions:
1) Trumpet (trumpet nearly as long as the petals)
2) Large-cupped
3) Small-cupped
4) Double
5) Triandrus (1-6 flowers per stem and reflexed petals)
6) Cyclamineus (reflexed petals)
7) Jonquilla (1-6 flowers per stem and straight petals)
8) Tazetta (numerous flowers per stem)
9) Poeticus (small cup and very fragrant flowers)
10) Wild daffodils
11) Collar (split corona)
12) Miscellaneous
Plant bulbs in autumn, at a depth of one and a half times their size, in light, fertile, well-drained, neutral or acid soils, or in turf, in full sun and partial shade. Bear in mind to remove overmature flowers and to leave the leaves for at least six weeks after flowering before removing them, so that the bulbs grow better.
Usually grown in gardens, rock gardens and flowerpots, or used for cut flowers.
Propagated by bulblet division in autumn.
Latin name: Narcissus "Passionale"
White flowers with a large salmon-pink cup.